Sketching at the Fish Market

fish_market This sketch goes back two or three weeks to a Sunday at the Fish Markets with the Sydney Sketch Meetup Group – the previous day had been 41.7 (107.6) degrees in Sydney and I still felt brain-fried. I only did this one drawing across a double-page spread. I left to go home before 2pm when it was starting to get hot again.

The waratah at the top of the page was there already. It was a test of Sheer Heaven transfer, from a photo I took. I like to set these little traps for myself by prepping pages or attaching stuff. The waratah is our state flower.

I have been feeling totally preoccupied with the Victorian bushfires this last week. I think we all feel the same. In Sydney it has been cold for the past 6 days and last night I wore warm undies & put the electric blanket on when I got home. Weird! It’s pouring with rain. If only it was pouring in Victoria.

1 Comment

Filed under drawing, sketching

One response to “Sketching at the Fish Market

  1. Great sketch, I like the idea of prepping pages ahead of time, helps prevent that fear of the blank page.

Leave a Reply

