Latest urban landscape

air_con_vent3This urban landscape is on the other side of King Street from my previous ones,  and down the back lane. This is a really interesting building with all kinds of paintable areas, but unfortunately it seems to be mostly permanently in shadow.

I’ve underpainted this canvas in Napthol Crimson, then I’ve worked with a limited palette of Prussian Blue, Yellow Deep, Permanent Maroon and Titanium white – all Matisse Structure acrylics.

I have also used a new medium that I’ve been testing – can’t talk about that yet, but just to say I really love it, and will be using it for my next painting as well.  I’ll tell you about it as soon as I can.

I think I’ve channelled Jeffrey Smart in this painting.  I borrowed some huge Jeffrey Smart Books from the library and his skies are really amazing, so I am now in the ‘why-does-the-sky-have-to-be-blue’ mode.

6 Comments

Filed under acrylics, books, Matisse Derivan, painting

6 responses to “Latest urban landscape

  1. I love the colors in this one!

  2. I’d love to be able to channel Jeffrey Smart. This is a beautiful painting. I’m really impressed by the whole series. Keep going, you’ve hit paydirt! :)

  3. I’m so intriqued with your acrylic paintings. What medium do you use with your paints to get the oil painting feel to them?

  4. What a nice painting! I like both the choice of color combinations and the texture!

  5. Your paintings are really great, wonderful colours. I see what you mean about Jeffrey Smart but you’re doing your own thing so well. I’ve been to two of the Ed Hutchins workshops, one in Canberra and the other in Sydney and really enjoyed both; lots of ideas to put into practice but still not settled in enough to have any space at all to work (apart from my bed, and I draw the line at that.)

  6. Pingback: Pyrmont Art Prize – my painting « quirkyartist

Leave a Reply

