Orchid with watercolour and watercolour pencils

orchid_2This image is mixed media. I masked the orchid, the main stem, and the green bud behind the orchid, then I put the background on with watercolour. I painted a wash of raw sienna with some dirty ultramarine in the sky area. While it was wet I painted a lot of narrow vertical strokes in greens and browns. I dropped in a few pieces of urea to break up the background. When that I was dry I drew more vertical strokes with watercolour pencils, drew the orchid and the bud, and very much darkened the stem – all with watercolour pencils.    This is the photo I was working from.

Leave a comment

Filed under drawing, watercolour, watercolour pencils

Leave a Reply

