Solar plate from drawing….

gang_gang_solarI made this solar plate from a drawing I did at the Australian Museum. At first I traced it onto architect’s drafting film, the way I did with these pomegranates. Unfortunately I over-worked it, which was so obvious because the original was much freer. I threw it away and instead did a photocopy onto acetate.

This has been inked up in black with a raw sienna beak, then masked across the bird while a blue colour roll was put on, then the blend was rolled over the top. It did start with a red crest, but didn’t really show by the time the print was made.

2 Comments

Filed under birds, drawing, Print-making, solar plates, viscosity printing

2 responses to “Solar plate from drawing….

  1. caseytoussaint

    Very cool! Thank you for the explanation of the process too.

  2. Interesting post. I have made a twitter post about this. Hope others find it as interesting as I did.

Leave a Reply

