More printing on gel

Last week I went crazy trying out my new toy , a Gelli plate. Each of these prints has several layers. I am working on cheap paper, just trying different types of mark making at this stage. I’ve decided that I want to work with stencils first, so if the rain doesn’t stop today, and I get the floor vacuumed, then I’ll cut some new stencils.

This first one started with one of my handmade stencils, then has a layer with a dowel rod laid flat to make ‘sunrays’. The final layer was made with a quite wet brush.

The second print is made using a brush to create marks, and the end of the dowel to create dots, and using a stencil for the final coat.

The third print was made with two layers using one of my handcut stencils, and with some cotton threads laid across for the final layer.

The last print is made with a number of layers, all using a piece of old fruit-bag as a stencil.

This is all great fun & very addictive. The Gelli plate requires no preparation and very little clean-up (just wipe it over). But I do love the look of  the work of Papa Wheelie so I plan to make a plate from gelatine when I get time. I love the way it has a true ‘hand of the artist’ look once it starts to become degraded.

The second print was made with two layers using one of my handcut stencils, and with some cotton threads laid across for the final layer.

3 Comments

Filed under Gel printing, Print-making

3 responses to “More printing on gel

  1. Love your layering! Glad you are having so much fun with the plate…. the convenience factor is huge! Please feel free to share your thoughts AND prints on the Gelli Arts Facebook page – we’d love to see your prints :-)
    Nancy
    Gelli Arts
    http://www.facebook.com/GelliArts

  2. Liz

    wow Wendy!!! these are amazing!!!!

  3. I love the first piece – it kind of reminds me of an octopus in a way :)

Leave a Reply

