Visit to the doctor

On Monday I had to go to the doctor to get the results of a blood test. They love blood tests there. Over Christmas they had the builders in and I could see a whole lot of junk being taken out. Now the waiting room looks like a bus station. Rows of joined-up chairs and bare floors. Bland walls and NO art.

I decided to take my sketchbook and sit outside in the little courtyard where smokers used to go at one time. I thought I might have to wait. Last year there was an upheaval at the practice. A lot of doctors moved on, and several moved from another practice, bringing their own patients to add to the load of patients who already went to this practice. It was frustrating to say the least. If you had the temerity to want to see the same doctor again you might have to wait up to three weeks. Even if you’d see anyone, it was a week.

Maybe it is settling down now. I’m not sure. Anyway I had 25 minutes sitting outside to draw this chair. Good results when I saw the doctor, and nice doctor I hadn’t seen before.

1 Comment

Filed under drawing, Newtown, Pitt Pens, sketchbook, sketching, watercolour

One response to “Visit to the doctor

  1. Robyn

    I think you deserved a nice doctor for being so zen about the situation. :)

Leave a Reply

