Exhibition, free workshops and EDiM8 – Egg carton

Beginning on Tuesday,  I have some work in a printmakers’ group  exhibition. The opening is on Tuesday night. All welcome. It’s on till 21st May and I will be there on Friday afternoon minding the exhibition so do come along.

 

 

On Tuesday 22 May at Balmain Library and again on 22nd June at Leichhardt Library, I will be teaching a free two-hour workshop in decorating papers with inks.  We will be making itajime paper and bubble paper. Here is where you book a place. There will be a demonstration coming up in June also at The Art Scene.

 

With all these workshops and my acrylics classes starting again, EDiM chugs along. Not far to go till we’re half-way (I’m lagging with the blogging). I had fun drawing this egg carton. Weird perspective, but I had to place that way to fit on the page, because my book is a little narrower than usual. Most of it is drawn in watercolour pencils, then I’ve used the dip pen again but with burnt sienna ink this time.  I’m back using the watercolour pencils more and more, and just loving the dip pen. I plan to try a quite a few different colours of ink before the end of May.

I’ve got more into the swing of the ‘materiality’ thing & hope to use some pastels soon too, though I’ll need to prep the paper with transparent gesso. I love to use this stuff when I am drawing in pastels or charcoal. It gives me something to dig into, and I draw better.

Leave a comment

Filed under decorated papers, drawing, EDiM, events, inks, Print-making, sketchbook, sketching, Uncategorized, watercolour pencils

Leave a Reply

