Callan Park

hydrant_2013_janA long time ago I spotted this place at Callan Park where there is a great variety of old fire hydrants on a quiet back street where there is even a parking bay. There seems to be an emergency services place on the main road nearby, because often I would see firemen hanging about. When I used to go swimming at Leichhardt Pool I used to drive past it all the time. Callan Park is a large area of parkland that goes right down to the harbour. It is dotted with buildings, mostly disused, that were once part of a mental asylum. It has a very active group of local residents who have so far prevented developers from moving in.

Some time ago I started this book of pipes only. I haven’t been out and about sketching them recently, but I have been locating them, and now I have finally made a start in putting them in the book. I have it in mind to put many many different pipes in there and overlay them like this sketch of the conglomeration of cranes, though without the background.

I only drew one before the sun drove me away. I need to go earlier in the morning, or wait till March or so, when the shadows are longer. Plenty more to sketch there though!

3 Comments

Filed under Callan Park, Copic Multiliner, drawing, sketchbook, sketching, watercolour

3 responses to “Callan Park

  1. You’ve definitely been able to capture the beauty of pipes, Wendy! Who knew? I am reminded of the old computer screen where connections of pipes kept growing on the screen before the screen got full and it would start all over!

  2. I love pipes and plumbing stuff. You’ve captured this lot beautifully. I love Callanan Park, so many interesting buildings and shapes. And your conglomeration of cranes is stunning!

  3. Hi. I just found your blog this morning and have lots more to see. I love the sketch of the pipes very much, and what really gets me going is that you found them at Callan Park. Back in the 70s I worked there for about a year. I moved from Melbourne for an adventure which started with living in the Nurses’ accommodation for about six weeks. Ooooh yeah! I must go back and see it as a park.
    Best to you,
    Ros.

Leave a Reply

