The shipyard that has gone…

loading_logsAs I said yesterday, one shipyard at the end of Rozelle Bay has gone, another seems to be on the way out. Sydney’s maritime history is disappearing before our eyes. When I took these photos there was still work going on, but clearing away had started also. Prime real estate, dontcher know.

shipyard_cabinThis next image is the cabin/wheelhouse of an old ship.

The whole area was full of wonderful old rusted pieces of machinery. A skskip_shadowsshipyard_greenetcher’s paradise.

 

 

 

 

We paid two visits there. One was early in the morning to catch the cast shadows. pink_1

 

 

 

I have lots of photos. I’ve already used some to make solar plate etchings. I plan to do some paintings also. But now it has all gone, I know however many photos I took, it wasn’t enough.

3 Comments

Filed under boats, working harbour

3 responses to “The shipyard that has gone…

  1. That’s sad, isn’t it. I’m looking forward to your SP etchings though.

  2. Very sad, Wendy, but yes, it is progress, of a kind. Your photos are a great record of what has been lost. And I look forward to future sketches, paintings and solar plate etchings.

  3. Places like this have such character. I’m glad you were able to get there and take so many photos.

Leave a Reply

