Cockatoo Island in the rain.

machine_brownSaturday was the ‘Crane Crawl’ at Cockatoo Island. The weather wasn’t promising but I wanted to go anyway. At Cockatoo Island the sky was dark, so rather than start to sketch and get rained on before I was finished, I went straight to the Industrial Precinct. I’ve only sketched inside there once before and was longing to do it again.

machine_redEven while I was doing my first sketch, the rain came down and was hammering on the tin roof. I love sketching these old machines. I wish I knew what they were for. The top one is a bit like the Beam Benders but not as big, and it has a wonky ‘bender,’ if that’s what it is.

For the next machine I chose a red background. I am jumping around in my book of toned paper.cupboard I chose a nice industrial brown for the first one, but then I wanted to keep the day’s sketches together as a group. What do you think this machine does? Maybe the wheel at the top lowers the head and it cuts metal between those two wheels. There is a bit of commonality between this and a sewing machine.

My last sketch of the day was this little grouping of a cupboard, some boxes and a thingy. I was running out of time, and chose something without a lot of ellipses.

We got soaked waiting to get on the ferry to go home (all those people disembarking at Cockatoo Island in the pouring rain!) But we had a great day sketching and I wouldn’t have missed it. Can’t wait to go back. All sketches with Lamy Safari pen, and Prismacolour pencil(s) on Canson paper.

3 Comments

Filed under Cockatoo Island, drawing, Lamy Safari, Prismacolour pencils, sketchbook, sketching, Urban Sketchers Event, working harbour

3 responses to “Cockatoo Island in the rain.

  1. These are really beautiful, Wendy. I do love old machinery like this, as you obviously do too, and I like to wonder about their previous existence. Great sketching!

  2. CrimsonLeaves

    Wow! Three fabulous drawings and I do love the colors and medium you chose. The red piece is super eye-catching, Wendy! It sounds like a fabulous day. I found myself thinking that I’d have had a heck of a time with these as I’d have been trying to capture every screw in the thing.

  3. I love the pieces of machinery done on the toned paper. Glad you had such a great day in the rain.

Leave a Reply

