Out and about in Newtown

air_con_ventOn Thursday I went out and about in Newtown with fellow Urban Sketcher Liz Steel. I was showing Liz some places around my local area where we might be able to have an Urban Sketchers event. King Street, the main shopping street in Newtown is too popular on the weekend with people lunching and brunching. Not much room for sketchers on the pavements and certainly not in the cafes.

I took Liz to my favourite building which has a little park opposite.  I’ve sketched this building before here and hepink_buildingre. I could spend a lifetime drawing this building in sections and with different media. The blue of the paper was similar to the blue of the steel, so that is why I chose to sketch this section. The scan is not really true to the colour.

I particularly like this sort of  ‘industrial’ image on toned paper. Not working consecutively through the book is serving me well, but I will be glad when the book is fuller.

Here is the crazy building in all its glory. Liz sketched the whole building here.

3 Comments

Filed under drawing, Lamy Safari, Newtown, Prismacolour pencils, sketchbook, sketching, urban landscape

3 responses to “Out and about in Newtown

  1. CrimsonLeaves

    Oh I do love your industrial sketches, Wendy. You always nail them and this is no exception. The paper color choice is spot on. Check out Liz’s piece too and she did a great job also.

  2. Ruth Bosveld

    Wish I could come, too, Wendy. What a fascinating building!

  3. I love your crop of the scene as well as Liz’s full version. The lines in this are great as well as the shadows. Industrial buildings have their own charm. Nicely done!!

Leave a Reply

