Cockatoo Island Urban Sketchers Event

20130506-124334.jpg
Saturday morning was another Urban Sketchers Event at Cockatoo Island. Remember we got rained out (well, rained in) last time, and I sketched the machines?

This time a cloudy day was forecast with strong winds. It can be cold there out on the island, and although the weather has been perfect, we are well on into the autumn. In the event, it was yet another perfect day and we were stripping off layers.

I wanted to sketch this hugely complicated crane that I haven’t tried before. It is always trickier than you think, sketching cranes. They are so very tall. You have to anchor them on the ground somehow, then you run out of page when you go upwards. This crane is just gorgeous where that rectangular thing is, and next time I shall attempt to draw a detail of that area. As it was I went off the page at the top, and across onto the other page once I got the rope-thing hanging down. So I continued to add more buildings coming closer to me, able only to fudge the perspective and the proportion because it was so unplanned. Nevertheless I quite like it.

2 Comments

Filed under Cockatoo Island, Copic Multiliner, Prismacolour pencils, sketchbook, sketching, Urban Sketchers Event, working harbour

2 responses to “Cockatoo Island Urban Sketchers Event

  1. I really like the effect you’ve achieved with the white on grey paper, it makes the whole sketch really jump out of the page! I came across your blog via another blogger’s site and was just wondering if I’m not too late to join the ‘every day in May’ challenge. It’s such a great idea!

  2. CrimsonLeaves

    Oh I do think this is wonderful. Your machinery and industrial scenes have been slowly inspiring me. I’ve gone so far as to snap a photo for a future work just because I love these scenes you do so beautifully.

Leave a Reply

