Lotuses in Bloom

lotus_2014I hadn’t been to the Botanic Gardens for quite a while. It has been supposed to rain all week, but in fact though it has been cloudy, it hasn’t rained. We took a risk and went to the Gardens yesterday. It didn’t rain. It was very hot and sticky, and though not sunny, I got sunburnt.

I like to draw the lotuses each year, when they are blooming. Or if they are not I still like the way the light falls on the leaves. Here is one from two years ago, and another. This is from 2010, and this one from 2009 might be the first one. I turned some of these into solar plate etchings that I printed in many colours. And this smaller solar plate etching is from the leaves of the very first lotus sketch I did. They all look so different, don’t they? Which one do you like best?

Yesterday’s effort is large-ish, 35cm wide by 20cm high. Green Copic Multiliner for the leaves and Wine for the flowers.  It is so nice to be able to work right across the spread again.

4 Comments

Filed under Botanic Gardens, Copic Multiliner, sketchbook, sketching, watercolour

4 responses to “Lotuses in Bloom

  1. CrimsonLeaves

    I always love when you draw plants, Wendy. I think when I first found your blog, you were doing many paintings of plants. This is beautiful!

  2. Yes, this is lovely and I think is my favourite, though difficult to choose. There’s a lightness that I love. Also love the solar plates.

  3. Gede Prama

    Thank you my friend, I am proud to be able to read the writing on your article!

Leave a Reply

