First project from the John Lovett book

jl_project_1While I was away, a friend gave me this wonderful book by John Lovett. I think it is the best how-to watercolour book I have ever seen. It is so full of information.

This is the first project. You are guided through by a very detailed step-by-step, as well as lots of hints and tips. So much more useful than many other books I have. I have only showed it to two people and they both have bought it.

I am working through the book from the beginning. Each project builds on what goes before it, and I don’t want to miss anything. I took a couple of days to paint this. I waited till each step was totally dry (and it’s cold here now), and I kept re-reading so saw not to miss anything.

John Lovett is an Australian artist, so the book starts with Australian landscape. I don’t normally paint landscape. I’m a city girl and I don’t have the opportunity. I prefer urban landscape, but soon the book moves on to that also. Gorgeous!

I did this painting in my sketchbook on Canaletto paper. I am keen to fill up this sketchbook because my next one will be Fabriano Hot Press. I have been a fan of Canaletto paper for a few years now and it is a wonderfully robust paper. It is fine for pen-and-wash sketching, but if you want watercolour to behave like watercolour, then Canaletto paper allows the paint to soak in fraction too quickly. It doesn’t hold up well to multiple washes either.

Not blogging as often as I’d like, but don’t think for a minute I’m not making art. I have been busy with a friend making samples for workshops we are going to teach.

2 Comments

Filed under painting, watercolour

2 responses to “First project from the John Lovett book

  1. Lovely landscape, Wendy!

  2. CrimsonLeaves

    Wendy, it really is a gorgeous watercolor! Very dreamy and makes me want to visit this spot!

Leave a Reply

