Bologna Windows

bologna_windows_sketchBologna has the most amazing windows. This is just one of many I photographed. They are set off by these wonderful red blinds. I sketched this with a dip pen and my dark brown ink I bought in the pen shop in Florence. First opportunity  I have had to try it out. It is not “impermeabile” (waterproof.)  I am totally up to speed with Italian words regarding pens and inks now.
 

 

I am a bit teimagempted to GET red blinds, but I don’t know how well the look would go with a Newtown terrace house. Mine would probably end up rather more like this one. But I am in the market for new blinds at the moment, so you never know.
image

 
 

 

 

Another thing I love about Bologna windows is the sheer variety of windows in the one building, randomly placed, obviously over centuries. This is in one of the great palazzi of Bologna, but smaller buildings can have an amazing variety too.
 

bologna_2

 

 
This is a drawing of a small building with random windows in Bologna I did about ten years ago. Does anyone know where in Bologna this ? I have no idea. I didn’t know the city so well then.
 

 

 
image

 

 
Here are some more with the red blinds. These ones are in Piazza Santo Stefano.
 
 
 
 

imageAn unusually rustic one here with plain wooden shutters.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  
imageAn oval window. In Sicily they said it was the Arab influence.
 
 
 

 
image
 
 
 

 Two for the price of one. A shuttered green window  reflected in another window.

 
So many beautiful windows. I could show you so many more. What’s not to love about Bologna?

2 Comments

Filed under Bologna, inks, Italy, sketchbook, sketching, Travel

2 responses to “Bologna Windows

  1. CrimsonLeaves

    Love your older sketch; perspective is beautifully done, Wendy! Always love all your sketches. I too think the windows are gorgeous!

  2. Nice sketch of the window! I love the variety you showed in the photos.

Leave a Reply

