The Oil Bottle

oil_bottleThis is my Christmas present, but I didn’t get it until May. There is a story behind that. Last year when I was in Barcelona, there was a wonderful ceramic shop near our apartment. I very much admired, but didn’t buy, an oil bottle there. When I got home I wondered around WHY I hadn’t bought it.

So Annie gave me one for Christmas. She bought it here locally, and just as well, because when I put it into action, the top didn’t fit. She took it back without any problem, and as we had already decided our itinerary in Italy, I said ‘you can buy me one in Arezzo.’ There is a lovely shop with ceramics and food delicacies underneath Santa Maria della Pieve, on the corner with the Corso. But when we got there they didn’t have any oil bottles. So this one came from the market in Florence, home of all good things.

imageThe reason I drew it in green is because I bought myself a new fountain pen in Rome. I was wandering the streets near my hotel and came upon this pen shop having a closing down sale. It is a Campomarzio Disegno pen. I loved the bright colours, and it came with green ink. They had the most amazing pens (and they are available in Australia…..at a price.) Just as well,as they use cartridges (there are cartridges in that bottle) and I will be able to get them here. They have a shop in the QVB. So, this is with my new pen, with ink that is not impermeabile, and some watercolour washes.

4 Comments

Filed under Italy, sketchbook, sketching, Travel, watercolour

4 responses to “The Oil Bottle

  1. CrimsonLeaves

    Ooh, the oil bottle is exquisite!! I love the green! Also love your colorful pen.

  2. Love the story, the sketch, and the green ink! Glad you finally got your oil bottle and from Florence no less.

  3. cheapinkdiscounts

    What a great gift! It does look like something that you would only be able to find in Italy.

Leave a Reply

