The Blue Door at Casa Cuseni

blue_doorAt Casa Cuseni in Taormina, this blue door was across the terrace from the room at the top of the house where we had breakfast each day. I would have liked to sketch it at the time, but I was jet-lagged and getting used to how cold it was in Sicily.

Taormina is built on a hill, and Casa Cuseni is quite high up with wonderful views of the bay. The house of Casa Cuseni is a museum and we were so happy we had chosen to stay there. It was cold and rainy except for our last day, but the gardens are wonderful. It would be so nice to be there in the warm weather.

imageWith this sketch I used some techniques from my John Lovett book. I have used watercolour, ink and gesso. I would have liked to introduce more of his techniques, but I have photographs of grungier doors that will suit them better. I wanted to keep the colours of this lovely blue door more true to life.

2 Comments

Filed under Charcoal pencil, gesso, inks, Italy, Sicily, sketchbook, sketching, Travel

2 responses to “The Blue Door at Casa Cuseni

  1. The warm colors of the door and the building give no indication of the cold you were feeling. Nice!!

  2. CrimsonLeaves

    I can imagine sitting just inside with a glass of iced tea and a good book! It is lovely indeed, Wendy. No surprise it caught your notice!

Leave a Reply

