A little landscape – from my John Lovett book

jl_project_2This book is crammed with information, and I have decided that the best way to take it all in is to do the projects. However this raises even more questions, and I think the best answer is to do a workshop with John Lovett at some time, and actually watch him work.

I did this little landscape on Saturday morning, when it was raining, and I spent a lot of the day waiting for it to dry. This is a real mixed media effort, with watercolour, gouache, watercolour pencils, charcoal pencil, ink and gesso.

I have decided that this style of painting (or any watercolour beyond ‘pen and wash’) is in direct opposition to the qualities required for urban sketching. Well, you wouldn’t really want to carry around all that long list of materials. But the main thing is that sketching is fast, and ‘real watercolour’, to be done well, really needs time to dry. I have seen some very experienced watercolourists achieve it, but I have seen others make mud.

I am a bit of a ‘glazer’ when I paint in acrylics and oils, and I guess I am the same with watercolour. Makes for wet paper. I think this little painting (postcard size in my sketchbook) needs some stronger darks under the rocks, but it was an exercise and I had had enough with the waiting.

This time I had learnt to be less heavy-handed with my charcoal lines. That’s why I’m doing these projects…..to learn.

3 Comments

Filed under Charcoal pencil, dip pen, gesso, inks, sketchbook, watercolour, watercolour pencils

3 responses to “A little landscape – from my John Lovett book

  1. Looks lovely, Wendy! So interesting to see you working through the John Lovett book.

  2. CrimsonLeaves

    Oh how beautiful! I love the almost ethereal sense, or a feeling of whimsy. Very spring-like too, Wendy. I love what you’ve done here!

  3. Sounds like a great combination of materials to work with….but like you said, not practical for urban sketching. I like this.

Leave a Reply

